growing up

anyone who knows me is probably all too familiar with the fact that i am very excited to grow up, get married, and have a family.  i can’t wait for that, and usually make that desire painfully obvious to those around me.  i know that i was created to be a wife and a mother.  and right now i am greatly looking forward to that time in my life.

but sometimes, i still feel myself grieving the loss of childhood.  i look at myself in the mirror and wonder how on earth time has passed so quickly.  in the blink of an eye i’ve become an adult, and i’m not so sure what to do with that.  don’t get me wrong… i love where i am now.  i love the fact that i am in college, slowly learning more and more about the whole idea of independence.  i know that the lord is using this time to prepare me for what is to come in the future… but still, mixed with that knowledge and excitement is a trace of grief.  things will never be the same as they were before.  maybe this is a good thing.  in fact, i hope that it is.  but i’ve never been one who deals with changes well; it’s kind of sad for me knowing that the stress-less days of carefree play are over for the most part.

but, despite it all, i trust that the lord has a plan for my life, far greater than anything i could ever imagine.  and he will be here for me, through all the easy and hard parts of this thing called growing up.

‘i have cared for you since you were born. yes, i carried you before you were born. i will be your God throughout your lifetime – until your hair is white with age. i made you, and i will care for you. i will carry you along and save you.’ -isaiah 46:3-4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to growing up

  1. Patti Hanan says:

    Congratulations on your new blog. You are right. God does have a plan for your life, and it’s greater than you can even imagine!
    Patti

  2. Simply Me says:

    well welcome to the bloggers obesession, I mean world! :) Love what you had to say today. Jeremiaha 29:11 reinfroces what you had to say…but I totally get the rush and the regret.. I find myself there a lot.

  3. patricia says:

    Congrats on your new blog…..I the lord has great things in store for you
    Looking forward to following your posrt :)

Leave a Reply

