having joy

“do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of god without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe” – philippians 3:14-15

wow.  this verse, one that i have heard since childhood, is something that i have been feeling very convicted by lately.  i am always so quick to complain about whatever situation is bothering me at any given time.  and my annoyance is almost never because a situation is actually bad… it’s because i am impatient and self centered.  i am crooked and depraved, completely immersed in my sinful behavior of constantly complaining.  how on earth can i shine like stars in the universe when i am like this, so lacking in exhibiting joy?  i don’t want people to see me as the girl who is never satisfied, and always has something negative to say.  i want all of my actions to shine so brightly for the lord that there is no denying that he is working in me.

i find that when the seasons change and winter comes, this sinful nature in me gets worse.  i get all depressed about the weather, and then complain about the snow, complain about the cold, complain, complain, complain.  even as the words are coming out of my mouth in those times, i know i shouldn’t say anything, but still… i do.  why is this?  so, even though the weather is still nice, and my favorite season, fall, is just around the corner, i am making a conscious decision to continue to have joy in all circumstances… be it snow and cold, or sunshine and warmth.  this winter is going to be different.

i love this song by lincoln brewster.  i want my heart to always be in this place… praising the lord for the day he as made, rejoicing and being glad in it.  it’s about joy… i have to remember that.

“be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is god’s will for you in christ jesus.” – 1 thessalonians 5:16-18

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to having joy

  1. patricia says:

    Very true…I need to remember this…I actually call my husband from work everyday just to vent about something……I need to change my “mind” to change my “heart”. i really the believe the less I complain….the less I have to complain about…but when I am having a bad day it’s tough to remember this : (

    • mary grace says:

      yes. i love that phrase… changing my mind to change my heart. it’s so true. and i agree… the less we complain, the less there is to complain about.

      my prayer is that the lord would bring these things to my mind even when i’m stuck in the middle of some rough days.

Leave a Reply

