wisdom from oswald chambers

“the battle is lost or won in the secret places of the will before god, never first in the external world.  the spirit of god apprehends me and i am obliged to get alone with god and fight the battle out before him.  until this is done, i lose every time. the battle may take one minute or a year, that will depend on me, not on god, and i must resolutely go through the hell of a renunciation before god.  nothing has any power over the man who has fought out the battle before god and won there.  if i say, i will wait till i get into the circumstance and then put god to the test, i shall find i cannot.  i must get the thing settled between myself and god in the secret places of my soul where no stranger inter-meddles, and then i can go forth with the certainty that the battle is won… get alone with god, fight it out before him, settle the matter there once and for all… every now and again, not often, god brings us to a point of climax.  that is the great divide in the life; from that point we either go toward a more and more dilatory and useless type of christian life, or we come more and more ablaze for the glory of god– my utmost for his highest.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to wisdom from oswald chambers

  1. memory says:

    Deep. But I love it. I agree on getting alone with God. So true.

    Haha your comment about hiding the Easter candy made me smile. I wish I had the disciplene to tell my family to do that for me! ;) Great hearing from you.

    SoUtHeRnPiNkY.bLoGsPoT.cOm

Leave a Reply

